Hi, my name is Tim Rountree and I am a San Antonio DWI defense attorney. In this video, I’d like to talk with you about the consequences of a first DWI conviction here in San Antonio, Texas. By first DWI conviction, I mean that you are charged with a DWI and there are no enhancements for having a high alcohol level or an open alcoholic beverage in your vehicle. Additionally, your record is clear of DWI convictions. You have never been convicted of DWI before, whether in Texas or anywhere else.
DWI 1st is a class B misdemeanor. That means you face up to 180 days in jail and up to a $2000.00 fine. You can also receive up to a two year probation. There are many conditions as a part of that probation. These conditions change from court to court and from county to county. However, the most common conditions require you to report to a probation officer, do community service, attend various DWI education classes, abstain from alcoholic beverages and have an interlock device installed in your vehicle for at least one-half of your probation. A driver license suspension is also possible.
There are many things that an experienced DWI attorney can do to help you minimize or avoid these consequences altogether. If you have questions about the consequences of a DWI conviction or DWI defense please call me at (210) 667-3520. I’ll be glad to talk with you.
Tim Rountree defends DWI cases in San Antonio and throughout all of Texas.