DWI with a child in the car is one of the easiest ways an ordinary person can be arrested for a felony in Texas. It doesn’t matter that you didn’t have an accident or that you drove safely. If you are stopped and the officer believes you were intoxicated and you happened to have a child under 15 years of age in the car, you can be charged with a state jail felony.

COURT ORDERED CONSEQUENCES

The minimum punishment for this type of DWI is 180 days confinement and the maximum punishment is 2 years confinement in the state jail. The fine can be up to $10,000.00. Probation is possible. But, if you receive probation you will need to report monthly and have an interlock installed in your car. You can also receive a period of days in jail as a condition of probation and your driver license will be suspended. There are also many other possible court ordered conditions of probation.

CONSEQUENCES OF A FELONY CONVICTION

In addition to these court ordered consequences, you will have a felony arrest and conviction on your record. Deferred adjudication is not possible in this type of case. That means that if you are convicted, you will loose many of your federal constitutional rights as well. For example, you will no longer be able to vote or to possess a firearm. You will also have to explain this felony conviction every time you apply for a job.

YOU NEED HELP

DWI with a child in the car is a serious offense. A competent and experienced DWI attorney can help you fight this type of DWI charge. But, it is important to start on your defense as soon as possible.

Tim Rountree is a DWI defense attorney who helps people with DWI cases in Bexar county and all of Texas.

September 29, 2015

The Jury Said Not Guilty of DWI

Can You Win This DWI Case?  The officer said my client was speeding, making sudden turns, and seemed dazed and confused when she got out of her […]
August 6, 2015

What Is The Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus Test?

The Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) test is one of three standardized field sobriety tests that officers give before making a DWI arrest. It is usually the […]
June 13, 2015

What Is The Walk And Turn Test?

THE WALK AND TURN FIELD SOBRIETY TEST This is one of the DWI balance tests used in the standardized field sobriety tests.  It has two stages: the […]
June 8, 2015

Officer Makes Mistake Giving Field Sobriety Test

Transcript of Video: Problems With DWI Standardized Field Sobriety Test  My client took the right number of steps on the walk and turn, but the officer […]
July 11, 2014

What To Do If You Were Arrested For DWI

Transcript of Video: Hi, I’m Tim Rountree and I am a San Antonio DWI lawyer.  I want to share with you three things you need to […]
July 11, 2014
ALR Suspension - How long?

Driver’s License Suspension Lengths

When you are arrested for DWI, BWI, or DUI, the state prosecutes a criminal case against you and a civil license suspension case, also called an ALR […]
November 2, 2016

DWI 1st Consequences

DWI 1st Consequences:  Video Hi, my name is Tim Rountree and I am a San Antonio DWI defense attorney.  In this video, I’d like to talk with […]
September 29, 2015

The Jury Said Not Guilty of DWI

Can You Win This DWI Case?  The officer said my client was speeding, making sudden turns, and seemed dazed and confused when she got out of her […]
July 11, 2014

Don’t Miss This Deadline

Transcript of Video: If you have been arrested for DWI there is one deadline you don’t want to miss.  I’m Tim Rountree.  I’m a San Antonio […]
July 11, 2014
ALR Suspension - How long?

Driver’s License Suspension Lengths

When you are arrested for DWI, BWI, or DUI, the state prosecutes a criminal case against you and a civil license suspension case, also called an ALR […]
December 13, 2016

Consequences of a DWI with a Child in the Car

DWI with a child in the car is one of the easiest ways an ordinary person can be arrested for a felony in Texas. It doesn’t […]